FastFieldSolvers Forum
FastFieldSolvers Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
 All Forums
 FastFieldSolvers
 FasterCap and FastCap2
 how to create an input file

Note: You must be registered in order to post a reply.
To register, click here. Registration is FREE!

Screensize:
UserName:
Password:
Antispam question: What do MOONwalk and MOONdance have in common?
Answer:
Format Mode:
Format: BoldItalicizedUnderlineStrikethrough Align LeftCenteredAlign Right Horizontal Rule Insert HyperlinkInsert EmailInsert Image Insert CodeInsert QuoteInsert List

* HTML is OFF
* Forum Code is ON

T O P I C    R E V I E W
billa Posted - Sep 03 2019 : 12:52:49
Dear users,

I am new to Fast field solver and would like to know how to create input file for fastHenry or fast cap. there was a video in one of the previous posts but now its not accessible
3   L A T E S T    R E P L I E S    (Newest First)
Enrico Posted - Sep 12 2019 : 12:09:16
You are right, manually creating the input geometries is not easy.
This is usually done through scripts, or via exporting from other tools (e.g. XiC from WrCAD for IC design). However I believe FreeCAD is the most promising and versatile tool, as this is a fully parametric CAD, free and open source. FreCAD has already been extended by us with an ElectroMagnetic workbench able to create input files for FastHenry and VoxHenry. You can definitely use the macro on GitHub for exporting to FasterCap format, even if at present it requires some knowledge of both FreeCAD and Python.
A dedicated FasterCap support within the E.M. workbench for FreeCAD, as available as of today for FastHenry and VoxHenry, will follow, integrating the macro in the advanced GUI system. The difference is that we were able to get some sponsorship for the inductance solver support, so we could home in the development earlier this year.